## LIBRARY MINUTES BOARD OF TRUSTEES JOPLIN PUBLIC LIBRARY 11 MARCH 2015

A special meeting of the Joplin Public Library Board of Trustees was called to order at 1:04 p.m. in the Library's Large Meeting Room by President Courtney Dermott.

Present: Courtney Dermott, Bill Pate, Charles Parker, Doug Glynn, Dorothy Willcoxon, Bobbi Myers, Jill LaGasse and David Layne – Joplin Public Library Board; Jacque Gage -- Library Director; Lee Cushing, Patty Crane, Phyllis Seesengood, Cari Rerat, Jeana Gockley, and Linda Cannon – Department Heads; Leslie Simpson -- Post Memorial Art Reference Library Director; Tony Robyn, Troy Bolander, Sam Anselm, Lynn Onstot and Patty Heagel -- City of Joplin; Lacey Baxter and Daniel Rogers – Joplin Police Department; Jim Stufflebeam and Pam Haldiman -- Sapp Design Associates; Dick Waters -- strategic planning; Michelle Kaiser -- Project Manager; Bradd Brown -- OPN Architects; Virginia Laas, Suzanne Wilson and Sara Fisher – Post Memorial Art Library Board; Clayton Cristy – Tri-State Engineering; Mike Albert and Adam Mekies – Design Workshop.

Jim and Bradd summarized recent activities and walked attendees through six schematics.

## Considerations:

- \* how building is oriented on property, how it will be accessed, etc.
- \* What kind of presence does it have on 20<sup>th</sup> St landmark, destination, etc?
- \* Main building, parking, drop off area and how they relate to each other.
- \* Location of service area, drive up book drop?
- \* Idea of adaptability and expansion
- \* Zoning in building: quiet, noisy, various departments

Meeting adjourned at 2:10 p.m.

Written by

Lisa E. Brown

Administrative Assistant

sague Gage

Approved by

Jacque Gage

Secretary