Teens
JPL Kids Home | Kids' Catalog | Storytimes| Search the Internet

All Booklists

Mark Twain Award Nominees 2013-2014

Truman Award Nominees 2013-2014

Read-a-likes

Books to try if you like...

Harry Potter

 

If you like Junie B. Jones try...

Ivy and Bean Ivy & Bean by Annie Barrows
Seven-year-old Bean likes stomping in puddles, climbing fences into neighbors' backyards, and playing tricks on her older sister, Nancy. Her new neighbor appears to be a quiet, orderly girl who sits on her front step day after day reading. The two seem to have nothing in common, and Bean is not interested in getting to know Ivy, despite her mother's prodding to make friends with the nice girl next door. Then Bean gets into trouble, and Ivy helps her out. She discovers that Ivy is practicing to be a witch, and when they decide to cast a spell on Nancy, their friendship is sealed.
   
Ramona Quimby, Age 8 Ramona Quimby series by Beverly Cleary
Ramona Quimby is a talented artist but is bad at spelling. She sometimes dresses in unique costumes on Halloween and during a Christmas play to get attention. Ramona also enjoys making noise, whether it's pounding bricks on the concrete with her friend, Howie in their game Brick Factory or clunking down the street on tin can stilts. Ramona is a young girl with an active imagination, sure to entertain audiences of all ages.
   
Jenny Archer Jenny Archer series by Ellen Conford
In the book, Jenny Archer, Author, Jenny fills her first composition with humorous, in fact, wildly unbelievable situations anticipating with glee the praise she expects to earn. However, she comes down hard when Mrs. Pike is not at all appreciative. With a little explanatory help from her mother, Jenny writes her own, although boring, life story and wins her way back to her teacher's good graces. Jenny is a kid to like, enthusiastic and eager to learn who will captivate any audience.
   
Amber Brown Amber Brown series by Paula Danziger
Kids love Amber Brown. Not only is she clever and funny, but she deals with issues that lots of kids face: her parents' divorce, her best friend's moving away, and the struggle to get her homework done on time. Parents and children alike will enjoy this feisty, pigtailed heroine.
   
Judy Moody Judy Moody series by Megan McDonald
Judy Moody is a sassy third grader who has lots of fun! Judy has a little brother who comes in handy for practicing doctor stuff, has a cool new pet, and a huge Band-Aid collection. She also has a lot of individuality and attitude. If you like Junie B. Jones, you’re sure to enjoy all of the Judy Moody books!
 
Clementine Clementine by Sara Pennypacker
Clementine, a not-so-common third grader, knows her way around the principal’s office as well as she does the art-supply closet. She’s constantly being told that she needs to pay attention, but to her mind, she is paying attention and making astute observations. Clementine goes to great lengths to be friends with her neighbor, Margaret, but more times than not, both girls end up in trouble. This fun book and energetic illustrations bring life to this book.