JPL Kids Home | Kids' Catalog | Storytimes| Search the Internet

All Booklists

Mark Twain Award Nominees 2013-2014

Truman Award Nominees 2013-2014


Books to try if you like...

Junie B. Jones

If you like Harry Potter try...

The Prydain Chronicles

Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander
This five volume series of children’s fantasy novels detail the adventures of a young man named Taran, who is awarded the honor of Assistant Pig-Keeper, but dreams of being a grand hero. This engaging series blends elements of Welsh legend, universal mythology and imagination

Dark is Rising Dark is Rising sequence by Susan Cooper
Will Stanton discovers on his 11th birthday that he is no mere boy. He is the Sign-Seeker, last of the immortal Old Ones, destined to battle the powers of evil that trouble the land. His task is monumental: he must find and guard the six great Signs of the Light, which, when joined, will create a force strong enough to match and perhaps overcome that of the Dark. Embarking on this endeavor is dangerous as well as deeply rewarding; Will must work within a continuum of time and space much broader than he ever imagined.
Redwall Redwall series by Brian Jacques
Redwall is a series of fantasy books written by Brian Jacques. The book series does not chronicle any one particular time frame. Rather, it is set in many different periods in the history of the world of Redwall, which entails Mossflower woods, surrounding islands, and a land called Southsward. The characters in the books are all animals of some sort, almost all of whom are capable of speech, and although it’s an fantasy series, they contain no elements of magic. This extremely popular series is sure to delight readers of any age.
Circle of Magic Circle of Magic series by Tamora Pierce
The Circle of Magic is a quartet of novels set in a pseudo-medieval/renaissance era. It revolves around four young mages, each specializing in a different kind of magic, as they learn to control their extraordinary and strong powers and put them to use.
Septimus Heap The Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage
This series follows the adventures and story of the Septimus Heap, who, as a seventh son of the seventh son, has powerful magical capability. After he secures his apprenticeship with the arch wizard of the books, called the ExtraOrdinary Wizard, he must study for seven years and one day before he is qualified to take over. Along with him is Jenna, who is the princess of the castle in which they live. Together with his brothers and a large assortment of other characters, they must overcome the trials and tribulations that they encounter as they grow up.
Wizard's Map Tartan Magic series by Jane Yolen
Siblings Jennifer, Peter and Molly  have come from America to spend the summer with Gran and Da in Scotland.
In the first book, Wizard’s Map, the children accidentally summon up the evil spirit of one of Scotland's most dangerous wizards, Michael Scot. Soon the children learn that Michael Scot intends to use a magical ancient map to alter the history of the world. Follow the children throughout their adventures in the Tartan Magic series by Jane Yolen.
Wizard's Hall Wizard’s Hall by Jane Yolen
Wizard’s Hall - Poor Henry. It’s not enough that his mother has sent him away from home to learn magic. It’s not enough that everyone at his new school calls him Thornmallow because he’s “prickly on the outside, squishy within.” It’s not enough that the only talent he shows at Wizard’s Hall is an ability to make messes of even the simplest spells. Now, when Wizard’s Hall is threatened by a cruel sorcerer’s fearsome beast, it is up to Henry--or, Thornmallow--to figure out how to save not only his new friends but also the entire school for wizards.